YA Novels for Fans of These 2018 Movies

I don’t really get to talk about movies a lot on my blog, with it being a book blog and all, but I thought now’s the perfect opportunity to swoon over some of my favourite 2018 film releases and match them with a YA novel! Because I work part time at a cinema, I’m lucky enough to get to see all the movies we’re showing for free – often multiple times. My record is seeing Thor: Ragnarok eight times at the cinema, closely followed by Love, Simon which I saw seven times. No, I’m not sick of either of them yet. And yes, I’m 95% made of popcorn.

2018 has been another incredible year of cinematic releases. Not only have we had some absolutely incredible YA adaptations released, like Love, Simon and The Hate U Give, but we’ve also had some truely excellent and worthy contenders for the Oscars. I’m channeling my inner Moira from Schitt’s Creek when I confess that my favourite season is, in fact, awards season. If you haven’t seen that amazing show yet, I give you permission to binge it on Netflix.

sub-buzz-11191-1486952611-1.png

But without further ado, here are the incredible film releases of 2018 that I’ve matched with equally excellent YA novels!

Bohemian Rhapsody | I Was Born for This

It seems only fitting that I start this post off with my favourite movie and my favourite book of 2018. And yes, they’re both about music and fame and being queer! I just can’t get enough of these two brilliant works of art. Besides containing a lot of similar overt themes, Bohemian Rhapsody and I Was Born for This are also united by the undercurrents of religion, which plays a role in the narrative, and being unafraid to go forth and choose your own path in life, regardless of what those around you say.


Incredibles 2 | Not Your Sidekick

I think we can all agree that we were left waiting for Incredibles 2 for way too long. I remember sitting by the TV with my eyes glued to the screen watching Incredibles on repeat when I was a kid, so seeing this film really hit home and reminded me of my childhood. Although nothing could ever live up to the nostalgic perfection of the original, this film did a damn good job of a follow-up. And you know what else is a fun story about superheroes? Not Your Sidekick! I need more superhero narratives in my life.


Searching | What the Woods Keep

Oh wow, I seriously did not know what to expect when launching into both of these stories. With Searching, the whole concept of it being shown entirely through a laptop with FaceTime calls and Google searches was incredible, and then What the Woods Keep kind of did the same thing by showing us documents and interviews that were in addition to the main story. What I loved about these two was how unique and captivating they were, and they both had me on the edge of my seat. 10/10 for both of these thrilling stories!


Beautiful Boy | Clean

I literally can’t think about Beautiful Boy without wanting to curl up into a ball and cry. I knew it was going to be one of my favourite films of the year, not just because it starred Timothée Chalamet (okay, mainly because it starred that stunning human), but also because candidly portraying the struggles of addiction is something we need to see more of. And that’s exactly what Juno Dawson did with her novel Clean. People are so used to viewing people struggling with addiction in a negative light, thanks to the media, and they don’t see the full truth about what’s actually going on. These two pieces of media were just so heart-wrenching and raw, and I loved them both so much.


Black Panther | Children of Blood and Bone

I think it’s pretty safe to say that these two were the best fantasy releases of 2018. Give me war! Give me marginalised characters doing badass stuff! Give me empowered females kicking ass! I was just so here for both of these incredible works of art. Almost everyone on the planet has either seen Black Panther or read Children of Blood and Bone, but if you haven’t, I urge you to give it a go! They’re both such incredible stories that will have you on the edge of your seat. I need more!


Boy Erased | Autoboyography

Oh my goodness, my heart! Both this film and this novel just ripped my heart to shreds in the very best way. Although Boy Erased shows how unspeakably horrific and disgusting conversion therapy is, which is something Autoboyography doesn’t, they’re both similar in how they address the struggles (and sometimes dangers) that living with homophobic parents can be, especially people who excuse their homophobia on the grounds of religion. Pack your tissues for both of these, folks.

Ocean’s 8 | Six of Crows

There’s nothing I love more than stories about queer characters and heists. I mean, come on! Those two things are the perfect mix. Cate Blanchett… I’m still swooning. Someone hold me. And then we have Six of Crows, which is hyped just as much as Ocean’s 8 was – and it’s just as phenomenal! I’m so here for stories with groups of people all trying to achieve the one thing, especially if that thing is kind of illegal. Badass women stealing stuff? Sign me the heck up!


Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again | Open Road Summer

These two glorious creations are just fun compressed into a devour-able story that you won’t want to stop paying attention to until it’s over. Our screens were again blessed with another Mamma Mia movie in the same way that our shelves were blessed with another gorgeous Emery Lord release. Everyone say thank you, 2018. The world might be on fire, but at least we have Cher singing ABBA! Both of these gave me the ultimate summery feels and made me want to sing at the top of my lungs. They were both just so great!


Hereditary | Small Spaces

Yep, these two definitely scared the bejeepers out of me this year! There’s just one scene in particular from Hereditary that I haven’t been able to get out of my head since I saw it – thanks for giving me nightmares for the rest of eternity, filmmakers! Small Spaces was exactly the same. These two things are not ones you want to watch or read late at night. They’re creepy and atmospheric and they’ll make you second-guess every little sound in your house at 3am when you can’t sleep. Scarily brilliant.

lets-talk

Have you seen any of the films I’ve mentioned? Have you read any of the books I paired with them? Do you have something to add to your TBR or to-watch list now? I’d love to hear all about your movie / YA novel pairings for 2018!

*

Images used curtesy of Freepik.

signature

3 thoughts on “YA Novels for Fans of These 2018 Movies

  1. I’ve either watched or read one of the movie or book in the pairings, but I’m intrigued to read or watch the other one of the pairings just to see the similarities 😊 Thank you for the amazing list!

  2. Great pairings! I LOVE I Was Born For This so much, and I also really enjoyed Small Spaces. I’m so excited to pick up What The Woods Keep – I got it this month, but until I saw you mention it, I hadn’t heard much about it. It sounds so good!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s